Nina Simone

Folksy Nina (Limited Clear Vinyl) (8055515232592)

Folksy Nina (Limited Clear Vinyl) View larger


Folksy Nina (Limited Clear Vinyl)

Nina Simone

Destination Moon


LPS 166968




LP 16,51 €

limited clear vinyl LP

Nina Simone’s incredible career spanned several decades and encompassed a wide range of styles and forms, her stirring voice, unconventional piano playing, and striking lyrics building a lasting legacy of widespread influence. The 1964 concert album Folksy Nina, recorded at Carnegie Hall, captures just how outstanding she was during her early rise, the intriguing set including playful jazz takes of Leadbelly’s ‘Silver City Bound,’ Pete Seeger’s ‘Hush Little Baby,’ and Jewish folk song ‘Erets Zavat Chalav’ and ‘Vaynikehu,’ as well as stunning, mournful takes of folk epics ‘When I Was A Young Girl’ and ‘Lass Of The Low Country.


  • Nina Simone (vocals, piano), accompanied by
  • Al Schackman, Phil Orlando (guitar)
  • Lisle Atkinson (bass)
  • Montego Joe (drums, percussion)

Recorded live in concert at Carnegie Hall, 12th of May 1963.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Silver City Bound
  • A2. When I Was A Young Girl
  • A3. Erets Zavat Chalav
  • A4. "Lass Of The Low Country
  • SIDE B
  • B1. The Young Knight
  • B2. Twelfth Of Never
  • B3. Vanetihu
  • B4. You Can Sing A Rainbow / Hush Little Baby