Zess (Gatefold) (MOVLP2503)

Zess (Gatefold) View larger

Zess (Gatefold)


Music On Vinyl


LPS 166983




Currently unavailable

LP 24,78 €

180 gram audiophile vinyl

Gatefold sleeve with UV spot varnish

Magma’s newest album Zëss is a 38-minute musical work by Christian Vander. Composed in 1970, Zëss had long been plagued by its incompleteness, its recording was deferred for years.

Four decades after its first draft, the work has finally been recorded in an orchestral version that gives it both its true dreamlike dimension and its transcending power. The first public performance took place in Bourges in 1979. It is the last piece in a series of unfinished compositions from the 1970’s. During the last 15 years they finished and released all these different pieces.

Zëss is described as a work that touches the philosophical domain by its treatment of the idea of nothingness and its evocation of the theme of time.


  • Christian Vander (lead vocals, voice, composer)
  • Stella Vander (lead vocals, chants)
  • Rudy Blas (guitar)
  • Simon Goubert (piano)
  • Philippe Bussonnet (bass)
  • Morgan Ågren (drums)
  • With:
  • Isabelle Feuillebois (vocals)
  • Hervé Aknin (vocals)
  • Julie Vander (vocals)
  • Sandrine Destafanis (vocals)
  • Sylvie Fisichella (vocals)
  • Laura Guarrato (vocals)
  • Marcus Linon (vocals)
  • The City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Adam Klemens (conductor)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Zëss (37:57 min.)
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Zëss (Continued)