Mark Turner

Return From The Stars (ECM 2684)

Return From The Stars View larger

Return From The Stars

Mark Turner



ECM 167021

ECM 2684



CD 14,03 €

Mark Turner’s writing for his quartet on Return from the Stars (titled after Stanislav Lem’s science fiction novel) gives the players plenty of space in which to move, on an album both exhilarating and thoughtful in its arc of expression. Solos flow organically out of the arrangements and, beneath the often-dazzling interplay of Turner’s tenor and Jason Palmer’s trumpet, the rhythm section of Joe Martin and Jonathan Pinson roams freely. Although Turner has been a frequent presence on ECM in contexts including the Billy Hart Quartet, the Fly trio, and a duo with Ethan Iverson, Return from the Stars is his first quartet album since 2014’s Lathe of Heaven and an essential document of his artistry as a player and his conceptual thinking as a bandleader.


  • Mark Turner (saxophone)
  • Jason Palmer (trumpet)
  • Joe Martin (double bass)
  • Jonathan Pinson (drums)


  • 01. Return From The Stars
  • 02. Terminus
  • 03. Bridgetown
  • 04. It’s Not Alright With Me
  • 05. Nigeria II
  • 06. Waste Land
  • 07. Unacceptable
  • 08. Lincoln Heights