Oded Tzur

Isabela (ECM 2739)

Isabela View larger


Oded Tzur



ECM 167083

ECM 2739



CD 14,03 €

New York-based saxophonist Oded Tzur introduces a heightened sense of urgency and a conceptually augmented approach to his distinctive voice, weaving one underlying musical idea through a series of elaborate and impassioned designs. The quartet’s lineup is unchanged from 2020’s Here Be Dragons and the group’s interplay has grown even more expressive in the meantime. Throughout Isabela the saxophonist and his collaborators – pianist Nitai Hershkovits, Petros Klampanis on bass and rhythm conjurer Johnathan Blake – apply their subtle dialect in a more intense space, exploring the nuances and colors of Oded’s self-fashioned raga in a suite-like sequence of quiet meditations and powerful exclamations. The remarkable session was captured in Lugano’s Auditorio Stelio Molo in September 2021 and produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Oded Tzur (tenor saxophone)
  • Petros Klampanis (double bass)
  • Nitai Hershkovits (piano)
  • Johnathan Blake (drums)


  • 01. Invocation
  • 02. Noam
  • 03. The Lion Turtle
  • 04. Isabela
  • 05. Love Song For The Rainy Season