Enrico Pieranunzi

The Extra Something - Live at The Village Vanguard (CAMJ 7969-2)

The Extra Something - Live at The Village Vanguard View larger

The Extra Something - Live at The Village Vanguard

Enrico Pieranunzi

CAM Jazz


ITF 167225

CAMJ 7969-2



CD 12,38 €


Italian master pianist Enrico Pieranunzi has made more than fifty recordings so far in a career that stretches back to the 1970s and has taken in collaborations with such major figures as Chet Baker, Charlie Haden, Paul Motian and Jim Hall. Few of his recordings has such presence as The Extra Something, a live recording made at the fabled Village Vanguard club in New York City. Working with a first-class band, Pieranunzi combines core jazz values with a sense of structure and order that comes from classical music, but all of it animated by a strong sense of freedom.

The Extra Something is not just another release by a prolific artist. It marks a definite stage in his remarkable unfolding career, and with it, elevates Pieranunzi to the ranks of the jazz greats. (Brian Morton)


  • Enrico Pieranunzi (piano)
  • Diego Urcola (trumpet, trombone)
  • Seamus Blake (tenor sax)
  • Ben Street (bass)
  • Adam Cruz (drums)


  • 01. Blue Afternoon
  • 02: The Extra Something
  • 03. Atoms
  • 04. The Real You
  • 05. Entropy
  • 06. Song For Kenny
  • 07. Five Plus Five