Chet Baker

Blue N Boogie: Live In Palermo, Sicily 1976 (SVVRCH054)

Blue N Boogie: Live In Palermo, Sicily 1976 View larger

Blue N Boogie: Live In Palermo, Sicily 1976

Chet Baker

Survival Research


LPS 167382




LP 16,51 €

Chet Baker’s work is legendary and the arrival of this previously unreleased live set, recorded at Palermo’s Brass Club in 1976, is a real delight for his fans. Here Baker’s marvellous trumpet revelry is matched by the rest of his dynamite Quartet, this time featuring the esteemed composer and vibraphonist Enzo Randisi on piano (his only collaboration with Baker), Vito Tommaso’s brother Giovanni making full use of the fretboard on melodic stand-up bass, and Gianni Cavallaro taking an unusual approach with the drums.

Their keen musicianship helps spur Baker to squeeze the best from his horn, and there’s a rare take of the ballad ‘I Can’t Get Started’ too, making this a must-have for all serious Chet devotees.


  • Chet Baker (trumpet, vocals)
  • Enzo Randisi (piano)
  • Giovanni Tommaso (bass)
  • Gianni Cavallaro (drums)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. There Will Never Be Another You
  • A2. My Funny Valentine
  • A3. I Can't Get Started
  • SIDE B
  • B1. But Nor For Me
  • B2. Blue 'n' Boogie/Buzzy