Albert Ayler

First Recordings Vol. 1 (Limited Clear Vinyl) (SOW017)

First Recordings Vol. 1 (Limited Clear Vinyl) View larger

First Recordings Vol. 1 (Limited Clear Vinyl)

Albert Ayler

Sowing Records


LPS 167606




LP 16,51 €

limited clear vinyl

Recorded in Stockholm on October 25, 1962, this session is one of Albert Ayler's earliest recordings, and features a European backing group he assembled during his brief stay in Sweden before returning to the States in 1963 and beginning his legendary run with ESP-Disk' and Impulse!

Though his genius is not yet fully formed, one can easily hear he's headed that direction, and this rare and long out-of-print recording is an essential piece of the history of one America's most uniquely lyrical voices on the saxophone.


  • Albert Ayler (tenor sax)
  • Torbjörn Hultcrantz (bass)
  • Sune Spangberg (drums)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. I'll Remember April
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Rollins' Tune
  • B2. Tune Up
  • B3. Free