Calvin Keys

Proceed with Caution! (Real Gone Edition) (RGM-1294)

New Proceed with Caution! (Real Gone Edition) View larger

Proceed with Caution! (Real Gone Edition)

Calvin Keys

Black Jazz


LPS 167778




LP 24,78 €

No need to be cautious here – as the album's the sort you can jump into right away – thanks to some wicked grooves from legendary guitarist Calvin Keys!

Calvin's had a great revival in recent years, but this album's the stuff that first put him on the map – a brilliant early date for the Black Jazz label, done in a unique blend of spiritual and soul jazz modes! Keys' guitar has a sharper focus here than on his other 70s set for the label – and he's working with some beautifully complex arrangements, played by a group that includes Charles Owens plus Kirk Lightsey, Henry Franklin, Oscar Brashear, Owen Marshall, and Ndugu Chancler. Most titles are originals – and tunes include the nice groover "Aunt Lovey", plus "Tradewinds", "Night Cry", "Renaissance", and "Efflugence".


  • Ajafika Calvin Keys (lead guitar)
  • Charles Owens (tenor, soprano sax, flute)
  • Thalmus Kirk Lightsey (electric piano)
  • Henry Franklin (bass)
  • Cha Che Oscar Brashear (trumpet, flugelhorn)
  • Owen Marshall (percussion)
  • Ndugu Leon Chancler (drums)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Proceed with Caution
  • A2. Tradewinds
  • A3. Efflugencev
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Aunt Lovey
  • B2. Renaissance
  • B3. Night Cry