Freddie Hubbard

Open Sesame (AWMXR-0012)

Open Sesame View larger

Open Sesame

Freddie Hubbard

Audio Wave


GEN 167805




CD 33,04 €


Freddie Hubbard was one of the greatest jazz trumpeters of all time. Open Sesame was his first album as a leader and this 1960 set finds the 22-year old already sounding like he was a poll winner. Hubbard had emerged from Indianapolis just two years before and, despite a few brief high-profile gigs, including with Sonny Rollins, J.J. Johnson and the Quincy Jones Orchestra, he was at the beginning of it all when he recorded Open Sesame. No matter, he sounds like a seasoned pro, taking explosive solos on up-tempo pieces, showing warmth and maturity on ballads and displaying a beautiful tone and an adventurous style throughout. Imagine being 22 and playing so brilliantly while McCoy Tyner is accompanying your solos! Always a courageous and a dramatic soloist, Freddie Hubbard shows with his fearless and fiery playing that he was already ready to conquer the jazz world in 1960.


  • Tina Brooks (tenor sax)
  • Freddie Hubbard (trumpet, horn)
  • Clifford Jarvis (drums)
  • Sam Jones (bass)
  • McCoy Tyner( piano)

Recorded June 19, 1960, at Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ.


  • 01. Open Sesame
  • 02. But Beautiful
  • 03. Gypsy Blue
  • 04. All Or Nothing At All
  • 05. One Mint Julep
  • 06. Hub's Nub
  • 07. Open Sesame (alternate take)
  • 08. Gypsy Blue (alternate take)