John Coltrane

Ballads (Japanese Import - Ultimate HQ CD) (4988031372388)

Ballads (Japanese Import - Ultimate HQ CD) View larger

Ballads (Japanese Import - Ultimate HQ CD)

John Coltrane



GEN 167930




This product is no longer in stock

SACD 32,21 €

Japanese Ultra-High Quality CD

John Coltrane’s immortal Impulse! records, A Love Supreme (1964) and Ballads (1963) both have drawn rave reviews since their original release. A.B. Spellman, former administrator for the National Endowment for the Arts, once described Ballads as “some of the most sensitive, heartfelt music that any lover ever sang on a horn.” Put simply, most guys don’t play the saxophone like John Coltrane.

The intense passionate Coltrane interpretation of standards such as “All Or Nothing At All,” “What’s New,” “It’s Easy To Remember” and the Sinatra classic “Nancy (With The Laughing Face)” are the essence of Ballads. When asked why attempt such an undertaking, Coltrane replied “Variety.”


  • John Coltrane (tenor sax)
  • McCoy Tyner (piano)
  • Jimmy Garrison (bass)
  • Elvin Jones (drums)

Recorded December 21, 1961 and September 18 & November 13, 1962


  • 01. Say It (Over and over Again)
  • 02. You Don't Know What Love Is
  • 03. Too Young to Go Steady
  • 04. All or Nothing at All
  • 05. I Wish I Knew
  • 06. What's New?
  • 07. It's Easy to Remember
  • 08. Nancy (With the Laughing Face)