Margo Guryan

29 Demos (Limited 2LP Gold Vinyl - Gatefold) (090771415110)

New 29 Demos (Limited 2LP Gold Vinyl - Gatefold) View larger

29 Demos (Limited 2LP Gold Vinyl - Gatefold)

Margo Guryan

Modern Harmonic


LPS 168125




LP 41,31 €

2 LP Gold Translucent COLORED


Stereo & Mono REISSUE

Margo Guryan's honeyed voice and gorgeously sweet songwriting has become a favorite of the soft-pop set. As a successful songwriter, her compositions have been recorded by the likes of Jackie DeShannon, Spanky & Our Gang, Astrid Gilberto, Claudine Longet, Oliver, Cass Elliot, Glen Campbell, Saint Etienne and Harry Belafonte.

Her only solo album, the magnificent Take A Picture (featuring the hit "Sunday Morning"), has become a cult classic since its release in 1968, and no wonder: its combination of marvelously funky sunshine arrangements and Margo's delicious melodies are a heady combo. She's influenced everyone from the Wondermints to Belle and Sebastian to Oscar-winning screenwriter Diablo Cody (who listened to Take A Picture while writing Juno).

In 2001, Margo released 25 Demos, a collection of fully-fleshed out demos from her personal collection. Most people's demos are mere sketches -- Margo's are little baroque masterpieces, featuring string arrangements, circus organ, chamber-pop rhythm sections and tons of glorious echo. Now, Modern Harmonic presents the biggest collection yet, 29 Demos, all lovingly wrapped in a gorgeous gatefold jacket loaded with liner notes. Finally, an album worthy to follow Take A Picture - two LP's worth of magnificent soft-pop


  • SIDE A: Recorded 1967-1968
  • SIDE B: Recorded 1967-1972
  • SIDE C: Recorded 1967-1974
  • SIDE D: Recorded 1974-1994


  • SIDE A
  • A1. What Can I Give You
  • A2. Something's Wrong With The Morning
  • A3. I Love
  • A4. Sunday Morning
  • A5. Can You Tell
  • A6. Think of Rain
  • A7. Sun
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Most Of My Life
  • B2. The 8:17 Northbound Success Merry-Go-Round
  • B3. Love Songs
  • B4. Thoughts
  • B5. I Don't Intend To Spend Christmas Without You
  • B6. Come To Me Slowly
  • B7. Timothy Gone
  • B8. It's Alright Now
  • SIDE C
  • C1. Why Do I Cry
  • C2. Under My Umbrella
  • C3. Values
  • C4. I Think A Lot About You
  • C5. The Hum
  • C6. Please Believe Me
  • C7. I'd Like To See the Bad Guys Win
  • SIDE D
  • D1. Yes I Am
  • D2. California Shake (*)
  • D3. Shine (*)
  • D4. Hold Me Dancin' (*)
  • D5. Good-Bye, July (*)
  • D6. Someone I Know (Chip Taylor Demo)
  • D7. Think Of Rain (Malcolm McNeill Demo)
  • (*) STEREO