Plunky & Oneness of Juju

Make a Change (Limited 2LP Edition) (4062548016277)

New Make a Change (Limited 2LP Edition) View larger


Make a Change (Limited 2LP Edition)

Plunky & Oneness of Juju



LPS 168122




LP 24,78 €


Strut present the definitive edition of a 1977 classic, Plunky & Oneness Of Juju’s ‘Make A Change’ album featuring the international hit ‘Every Way But Loose’ and five previously unheard studio takes.

Recorded at Omega studios in Maryland, the album marked a transition for the band with lead vocalist Jackie Eka-Ete recording her last sessions with Plunky and Virtania Tillery taking over lead vocal duties. “‘Make A Change’ was always designed as a slightly more commercial entry in our discography,” says Plunky. “We approached the sessions in the same way that we had approached all of our music since the early ‘70s. We played extended jams because we would always find something within those explorations. The songs had enough organic qualities to be considered R&B and enough rhythm to be Afro funk.


  • Judy Spears , Veronica "Nilaja" Jones - (backing vocals)
  • Muzi Nkabinde - bass, percussion)
  • Ronnie Toler, Tony Green - (drums)
  • Kevin Davis - (drums, cogas, timables)
  • Ras Mel Glover Jr. - (guitar)
  • Lady Eka-Ete, Virtania "Cookie" Tillery - (lead vocals)
  • William "Bill" Joyner - (piano, clavinet)
  • Weldon Hill - (piano, electric piano, synthesizer)
  • Marcus Macklin - (rhythm guitar)
  • O. Asante - (talking drum)
  • Plunky - (tenor & soprano sax, flute)


  • SIDE A
  • A1 (Family Tree) Make A Change
  • A2 Run Away Bay
  • A3 Loves Wonderland
  • SIDE B
  • B1 Every Way But Loose
  • B2 Higher
  • B3 Always Have To Say Good-Bye