Bridget St. John

Ask Me No Questions (Limited Gatefold Edition) (5060672880138)

New Ask Me No Questions (Limited Gatefold Edition) View larger


Ask Me No Questions (Limited Gatefold Edition)

Bridget St. John

Trading Places


LPS 168530




LP 23,95 €


Blessed with a distinctive voice largely defined by a rich, cello-like timbre, the English singer and guitarist Bridget St John was brought to the attention of the adventurous guitarist John Martyn by fellow singer Robin Frederick and after being introduced to him by Martyn’s poet friend, Pete Roch, was championed by BBC Radio disc jockey John Peel, who formed the Dandelion label in 1969 specifically to issue St John’s music.

Recorded in a brief session that lasted for some nine or ten hours, debut album Ask Me No Questions features Martyn on second guitar on opener To Be Without A Hitch and the equally chilling Curl Your Toes, as well as the haunting title track, while future Fairport Convention and Soft Machine member Ric Sanders appears on Lizard Tongue Boy and Many Happy Returns.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. To B Without A Hitch
  • A2. Autumn Lullaby
  • A3. Curl Your Toes
  • A4. Like Never Before
  • A5. The Curious Crystals Of Unusual Purity
  • A6. Barefeet And Hot Pavements
  • SIDE B
  • B1. I Like To Be With You In The Sun
  • B2. Lizard-Long-Tongue Boy
  • B3. Hello Again (Of Course)
  • B4. Many Happy Returns
  • B5. Broken Faith
  • B6. Ask Me No Questions