Dennis Taylor

Dayspring - Guitar Solos (Limited Edition) (MT011)

New Dayspring - Guitar Solos (Limited Edition) View larger


Dayspring - Guitar Solos (Limited Edition)

Dennis Taylor

Morning Trip


LPS 168536




LP 22,30 €


Released in 1983 on a miniscule run of 300-self-financed LP’s, Dennis Taylor’s Dayspring remains a lost masterwork of transcendental instrumental guitar. An important missing link between the 60’s folkloric experimentalism of John Fahey and Robbie Basho, and the new age atmospherics mined by William Ackerman and Michael Hedges in the early 80’s.

Though Taylor’s guitar playing remains crisply unadorned on these 10 tracks, his technique and his compositions stretch beyond the folk roots of the genre. He crafts a soundworld that is both immersive and familiar. His pastoralism has a spaciousness - a pianistic drift - that feels truly timeless. Taylor cut his musical teeth through the 60’s and 70’s playing with garage rock bands, and later finding his footing in the world of jazz/folk fusion.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Bicycle Town
  • A2. Roses of Thy Garden (For Justus And Jamal)
  • A3. Dawning Point
  • A4. Going Nowhere Fast
  • A5. The Journey Home
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Reflection Of The Dayspring
  • B2. Spanish Dancer
  • B3. Heartfull
  • B4. In The Silence
  • B5. From The East To West