George Benson

Breezin' (Limited Colored Edition) (RCV1 3111)

New Breezin' (Limited Colored Edition) View larger

Breezin' (Limited Colored Edition)

George Benson



LPS 168691

RCV1 3111



This product is no longer in stock

LP 24,78 €

high quality coloresd vinyl

limited edition

All of a sudden, George Benson became a pop superstar with this album, thanks to its least representative track. Most of Breezin' is a softer-focused variation of Benson's R&B/jazz-flavored CTI work, his guitar as assured and fluid as ever with Claus Ogerman providing the suave orchestral backdrops and his crack then-working band (including Ronnie Foster on keyboards and sparkplug Phil Upchurch on rhythm guitar) pumping up the funk element.

Yet it is the sole vocal track (his first in many years), Leon Russell's "This Masquerade" -- where George unveiled his new trademark, scatting along with a single-string guitar solo -- that reached number ten on the pop singles chart and drove the album all the way to number one on the pop LP chart.


  • George Benson - (lead guitar, vocals)
  • Phil Upchurch - (Rhythm Guitar)
  • Ronnie Foster - (electric piano)
  • Stanley Banks - (bass)
  • Harvey Mason - (drums)
  • Ralph MacDonald - (percussion)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Breezin'
  • A2. This Masquerade
  • A3. Six To Four
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Affirmation
  • B2. So This Is Love?
  • B3. Lady