Children of the Fire (Limited Edition) (1944)

Children of the Fire (Limited Edition) View larger

Children of the Fire (Limited Edition)

Sunrise Records

SUN 1944

LPS 168718




This product is no longer in stock

LP 14,03 €

A super rare timeless classic of deep jazz has been rediscovered: "Children Of The Fire", the first album by Marvin "Hannibal" Peterson And The Sunrise Orchestra.

Composed as a suite and recorded with a large orchestra, the album was released in 1974 on the small Sunrise label. Today, most fans only know it as a rare collector's item. "Hannibal" Peterson was born in Texas in 1948 and was influenced by John Coltrane and Cecil Taylor. As a trumpeter he played with all the greats of his time: Pharoah Sanders, Gil Evans, Roland Kirk, Elvin Jones, Archie Shepp and others. His Sunrise Orchestra existed for more than thirty years.


  • Richard Davis - (bass)
  • Diedre Murray - (cello)
  • Lawrence Killian - (congas, percussion)
  • Billy Hart - (drums)
  • Barbara Burton, Marvin Tuten - (percussion)
  • Michael Cochran - (piano)
  • Art Webb - (piccolo flute)
  • Marvin Tuten - (sitar)
  • Barbara Burton - (timpani, drums)
  • Hannibal - (trumpet)
  • Judith Graves, Julius Miller - (viola)
  • Myung Hi Kim, Rynae Rocha, Stanley Hunte - (violin)
  • John Blake - (violin solo)
  • Alpha Johnson - (vocals)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Rhythm Ritual
  • A2. Song Of Life
  • A3. Prelude
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Prayer
  • B2. The Ascending Of The Soul
  • B3. Finale