Wax Machine

Hermit's Groove (Limited Edition) (BTR062LP)

Hermit's Groove (Limited Edition) View larger

Hermit's Groove (Limited Edition)

Wax Machine



LPS 168927




LP 24,78 €

Surfing on a sun-drenched wave of psychedelia comes Brighton’s very own Merry Pranksters, Wax Machine. Primarily recorded and mixed in a closet room directly above a mortuary, their self-produced album Hermit’s Groove is a heady trip through progressive psychedelia, kitsch Italian library music and Brazilian tropicalia. Released via Batov Records (Satellites, Sababa 5).

Wax Machine is the project of Brazilian-born, Italian / English-raised Lau Ro, who takes a deep dive into their Brazilian heritage on this LP, taking inspiration from 60s tropicalia music and movement and the likes of Os Mutantes, Caetano Veloso and Gal Costa. The album features a version of Canto De Iemanja from Vinicius De Moraes and Baden Powell's seminal 1966 Brazilian album Os Afro Sambas. Canto De Iemanja is about the goddess of the sea Iemanja, a chant Lau has often found themselves singing to the sea in their hometown of Brighton.


  • Lau - (guitars, bass, vocals, percussion, drums on Springtime)
  • Toma Sapir - (drums, percussion, samples/synths)
  • Isobel Jones - (flute, vocals)
  • Adam Campbell - (electric piano)
  • Freddie Willatt - (tenor saxophone)
  • Marja Burchard - (vibraphone on Gaian Dream)
  • Ella Russell - (vocals on Canto De Iemanjá)
  • Kate Mager - (bass on Canto De Iemanjá)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Guardians Of Eden
  • A2. Tears From The Skies
  • A3. Springtime
  • A4. Canto de Iemanjá
  • SIDE B
  • B1. All I Can Do
  • B2. Face Of All
  • B3. Gaian Dream