Max Roach

Members, Don't Git Weary (848064013921)

New Members, Don't Git Weary View larger


Members, Don't Git Weary

Max Roach

Real Gone Music


LPS 168941




LP 33,04 €

• The 1968 Post-Bop Classic!

• Featuring Gary Bartz, Andy Bey, Stanley Cowell, Jymie Merritt and Charles Tolliver

Max Roach wasn't just one of the greatest drummers and percussionists in jazz history; he was also one of the greatest bandleaders in all of jazz, able to adapt his playing to an innumerable array of styles, from bop to free, and blessed with a keen eye and ear for talent. And he always, always kept pushing himself and his bandmates to find new modes of musical expression throughout his six-decade career.

Speaking of modes, this 1968 release on the Atlantic label is one of his finest albums, a masterpiece of modal jazz featuring a crack outfit of saxman Gary Bartz, trumpeter Charles Tolliver, bassist Jymie Merritt, pianist Stanley Cowell (composer of half the tracks on the album including the gem "Equipoise"), and, on the title track, vocalist Andy Bey.

Discerning ears might detect the first hints of jazz fusion, but Members, Don't Git Weary is simply modern jazz of the highest order.


  • Max Roach - drums
  • Charles Tolliver - trumpet
  • Gary Bartz - alto saxophone
  • Stanley Cowell - piano, electric piano
  • Jymie Merritt - electric bass
  • Andy Bey - vocals (On track B2 only)

June 25 & 26, 1968, New York City


  • A1 Abstrutions
  • A2 Libra
  • A3 Effi
  • B1 Equipoise
  • B2 Members, Don't Git Weary
  • B3 Absolutions