Shane Cooper

Finish the Sun w/ Mabuta (Limited Edition) (KJR 004)

New Finish the Sun w/ Mabuta (Limited Edition) View larger

Finish the Sun w/ Mabuta (Limited Edition)

Shane Cooper

Kujua Records


LPS 168968

KJR 004



LP 16,51 €


Finish The Sun, the second offering from Shane Cooper & MABUTA, is a glowing and energetic album, rooted in grooves from all over the African continent. The six-piece outfit draws on influences from Mali, Nigeria, the Sahel, Morocco; and the many sounds that make up their native South Africa.

This musical trip seamlessly dances through Afrobeat, maskandi, funk and hip hop, to moments of cinematic beauty. All embedded with subtle hints of 70s psychedelia. The core group of Shane Cooper, Bokani Dyer, Sisonke Xonti, and Robin Fassie invited international guests on drums including: Jamie Peet, Arthur Hnatek, Christopher Cantillo, and more…


  • Shane Cooper - (bass, acoustic)
  • Bokani Dyer - (piano)
  • Sisonke Xonti - (saxophone)
  • Robin Fassie - (trumpet)
  • Buddy Wells - (tenor saxophone)
  • Additional Instrumentation:
  • Julian Sartorius - (drums)
  • Arthur Hnatek - (drums)
  • Christopher Cantillo - (drums)
  • Lungile Maduna - (drums)
  • Jamie Peet - (drums)
  • Mario Hanni - (drums)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Finish The Sun
  • A2. Where The Heart Is
  • A3. Umshana
  • A4. Spirit Animal
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Kucheza
  • B2. Joburg Poem
  • B3. Flow
  • B4. The Walk