Alice Coltrane

Turiya Sings (Limited Edition) (6207)

Turiya Sings (Limited Edition) View larger

Turiya Sings (Limited Edition)

Alice Coltrane



LPS 169155




LP 20,64 €

Although this LP edition reproduces the original 1982 cassette artwork, the audio content is exactly the same as the Impulse! edition from 2021 (no synth or strings version)

Throughout the 1970s, in addition to maintaining the busy schedule of a recording and touring artist, Alice Coltrane was immersing herself in Eastern philosophies, mythologies and Vedic religious practices. By the early 1980s, she had become a guru and spiritual teacher and began to make music exclusively for her community at The Vedantic Center, northwest of Los Angeles.

The original recording of these songs, Turiya Sings, was released exclusively on cassette in 1982 for the students of the center. In addition to Alice’s voice and organ, the recording included synthesizers, strings and sound effects. In 2004, Alice’s son and producer of this record, Ravi Coltrane, found mixes of just Alice’s voice and her Wurlitzer organ, and set out on a long path toward sharing these with the world.


  • Alice Coltrane - (vocals, organ)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Jagadishwar
  • A2. Jai Ramachandra
  • A3. Krishna Krishna
  • A4. Rama Kathra
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Yamuna tira vihari
  • B2. Charanam
  • B3. Govinda Hari
  • B4. Hara Siva
  • B5. Pranadhana