Chip Wickham

La Sombra (Limited Edition) (8437015436296)

La Sombra (Limited Edition) View larger

La Sombra (Limited Edition)

Chip Wickham



LPS 169237




LP 16,51 €

Translated from Spanish as 'The Shade', Chip Wickham's debut album La Sombra drops after a 25-year career touring, recording and experimenting across three decades of jazz, funk, soul, hip-hop, Latin and electronica.

La Sombra is a monumental record for Chip as it symbolises the moment he stepped out into the light as a director of his creations with freedom to explore his roots, express and tell his version of jazz and pay testament to his heroes Roland Kirk, Yuseef Lateef & Harold McNair.

La Sombra takes an altogether more rooted direction than Chip's recent collaborative work, with the jazz of the late '60s and early '70s a dominating influence to the recordings. Comprising of seven tracks recorded in Madrid with musicians assembled by Chip from Madrid's jazz scene,the result is nothing short of astonishing - beautifully executed jazz arrangements in a variety of tasteful settings. Recommended? Absolutely!!!


  • Chip Wickham - (tenor sax, flute, alto flute)
  • Gabriel Casanova - (piano)
  • David Salvador - (double bass)
  • Antonio Pax - (drums, vibes)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. La Sombra
  • A2. Sling Shot
  • A3. Red Planet
  • SIDE B
  • B1. The Detour
  • B2. Pushed Too Far
  • B3. Tokyo Slow-Mo
  • B4. La Leyenda Del Tiempo