John Zorn

Multiplicities - A Repository of Non-Existent Obje (TZ 8393)

Multiplicities - A Repository of Non-Existent Obje View larger

Multiplicities - A Repository of Non-Existent Obje

John Zorn



TZA 169301

TZ 8393



CD 16,51 €


Multiplicities: A Repository of Non-Existent Objects is a book of twenty new Zorn compositions in the form of musical aphorisms.

Inspired by the writings and thought of French philosopher Gilles Deleuze, the music is wildly imaginative and meticulously structured, filled with unexpected twists and turns jumping from rock, jazz, and classical, to funk, metal, and more.

This first volume presents the first ten aphorisms performed by Zorn’s dynamic new ensemble Chaos Magick. John Medeski, Brian Marsella, Matt Hollenberg, and Kenny Grohowski (four members of Zorn’s minnermost circle) perform with an intense passion and painstaking attention to detail. Filled with fiery solos and bizarre juxtapositions, this is a multifaceted exploration of instrumental music at its wildest extremes.


  • John Medeski - (keyboards)
  • Brian Marsella - (keyboards)
  • Matt Hollenberg - (guitar)
  • Kenny Grohowksi - (drums)


  • 01. Perceptors
  • 02. Ariadne
  • 03. Erewhon
  • 04. Lines of Flight
  • 05. Conundrum
  • 06. Meinong’s Jungle
  • 07. Virtualities
  • 08. Functives
  • 09. The Nidus
  • 10. Succession