Linger Awhile (602448266491)

Linger Awhile View larger

Linger Awhile



GEN 169356




This product is no longer in stock

CD 14,86 €

Releasing her second album, at the young age of 22, Samara Joy signs with the iconic label Verve to release Linger Awhile. The title track, first recorded almost 100 years ago in 1923 by Bailey's Lucky Seven, stands out as the band (guitarist Pasquale Grasso, pianist Ben Paterson, bassist David Wong and drummer Kenny Washington) and Samara power through this upbeat tune at a breakneck pace.

Samara’s surprisingly mature vocals shine on each track, from the cool lounge-jazz of standards like “Can’t Get Out Of This Mood”, “Nostalgia” and “Social Call”, to her ever so tender rendition of Monk’s “Round Midnight” or the particularly special “Someone to Watch Over Me”, originally by Gershwin. Samara Joy’s voice is full-bodied, rich and silky smooth as she caresses each standard with warmth and tenderness. She manages to update these timeless classics with a modern twist, sometimes singing original lyrics using the melodies of famous instrumental solos. An earnest and elegant album that introduces these foundational jazz standards to a younger audience whilst still pleasing the most serious jazz aficionados


  • 01. Can't Get Out Of This Mood
  • 02. Guess Who I Saw Today
  • 03. Nostalgia (The Day I Knew)
  • 04. Sweet Pumpkin
  • 05. Misty
  • 06. Social Call
  • 07. I'm Confessin' (That I Love You)
  • 08. Linger Awhile
  • 09. 'Round Midnight
  • 10. Someone To Watch Over Me