Erich Kleinschuster

6Tet/ORF/1968-69 W/C. Jordan (Limited Gatefold) (WB014)

6Tet/ORF/1968-69 W/C. Jordan (Limited Gatefold) View larger

6Tet/ORF/1968-69 W/C. Jordan (Limited Gatefold)

Erich Kleinschuster

Wallen Bink


LPS 169498




LP 45,44 €


Heavyweight ‘tip-on’ gatefold cover


Metallic hype sticker

A treasure trove of work from the European scene – recordings that were unissued at the time, but which feature fantastic performance by American soloists done for Austrian radio!

The core group is led by trombonist Eich Kleinschuster – a player from Vienna who never got much notice on our side of the Atlantic, but who was a fantastic host for visiting musicians in a series of broadcast concerts done by the Austrian radio – with Erich as the leader, and a fair bit of work on piano and Fender Rhodes from the mighty Fritz Pauer – a talent you'll know from some key MPS Records sessions of the period!

And the vibe here is very much like MPS at its best – a great meeting of talents, at a level that rises everyone else involved – which makes these sessions superb throughout, no matter the soloist. This Volume 1 features six tracks from the mighty tenorist Clifford Jordan – on "Looking Across", "872", "Leavin Train", "Impressions Of Scandinavia", "Vienna", and "Sandra". Trumpeter Charles Tolliver shows up on the remaining five titles – on titles that include his fantastic "On The Nile", plus "Lil's Paradise", "Paper Man", "Right Now", and "Household Of Saud".


  • Jimmy Woode - (bass)
  • Erich Bachträgel - (drums)
  • Rudi Wilfer - (piano)
  • Hans Salomon - (tenor sax)
  • Clifford Jordan - (tenor sax)
  • Erich Kleinschuster - (trombone)
  • Robert Politzer - (trumpet)
  • Charles Tolliver - (trumpet, arranger)
  • Recorded by Austrian Broadcasting Corporation, Vienna
  • [1 to 4, 6] January 25, 1969
  • [5] July 1, 1968
  • [7 to 11] Febraury 1, 1969


  • LP ONE
  • SIDE A
  • A1. Leavin' Train
  • A2. Impressions Of Scandinavia
  • A3. Vienna
  • SIDE B
  • B4. Looking Across
  • B5. Sandra
  • B6. 872v
  • _____________________________
  • LP TWO
  • SIDE C
  • C7. On The Nile
  • C8. Lil’s Paradise
  • SIDE D
  • D9. Paper Man
  • D10. Right Now
  • D11. Household Of Saud