Bill O`Connell

A Change Is Gonna Come (SCD2197)

A Change Is Gonna Come View larger

A Change Is Gonna Come

Bill O`Connell



JZD 169567




CD 13,21 €

Pianist Bill O'Connell keeps it nice and lean here – working in a core quartet that moves its instrumentation around, but always in ways that maybe bring more of an edge to the record than some of O'Connell's previous records – yet all without losing the soulful charms that make him so great!

Bill himself plays acoustic piano, but switches to Fender Rhodes on two cuts – a theme that's followed as Craig Handy plays soprano sax on three, and tenor on two more – while bassist Lincoln Goines shifts between acoustic and electric basses. Steve Jordan handles drums, and Pedrito Martinez adds percussion on a few tracks – exploring some of the Latin currents that Bill sometimes adds to his records.


  • Bill O'Connell - (piano)
  • Craig Handy - (saxophone)
  • Lincoln Goines - (bass)
  • Steve Jordan - (drums)
  • Pedrito Martinez - (percussion)

Paramus, New Jersey, May 13 $ 14, 2021


  • 01. Moment’s Notice
  • 02. Loco-Motive
  • 03. Covid Blues
  • 04. A Change Is Gonna Come
  • 05. Sun for Sonny
  • 06. Enough Is Enough
  • 07. Sweet Peanut
  • 08. A Prayer for Us
  • 09. Chaos
  • 10. My Foolish Heart