Alleycat (Limited Edition) (bewith105lp)

Alleycat (Limited Edition) View larger


Alleycat (Limited Edition)


Be With Records


LPS 169677




LP 24,78 €

Definitely one of Nucleus' lesser known albums, Alleycat nonetheless maintains the exceptionally high standards that Ian Carr & Nucleus had set for themselves over the course of numerous albums before this one.

It's true that there's little here which is a departure from any of their previous releases, but with a quality of of both songwriting and playing this high, who could blame them? Once again we have fast, intricate, melodic jazz-rock fusion, with moments of high energy interspersed with slow and thoughtful sections, and the continual build-release adding to the overall dynamics.

There is some experimentation involved though, with the then-still-novel tinkering with electronics on the first track, but after that it's straight-ahead fusion all the way. All Nucleus lovers should try to get hold of this one, and fans of Soft Machine's mid-period albums will probably also love this, as will anyone who enjoys the likes of Mahavishnu Orchestra, Miles Davis' 'In a Silent Way'.


  • Ian Carr - (trumpet, flugelhorn, synth)
  • Bob Bertles - (soprano, alto & baritone saxophones, flute)
  • Geoff Castle - (keyboards, Moog)
  • Ken Shaw - (guitar)
  • Roger Sutton - (bass)
  • Roger Sellers - (drums, percussion, timpani)
  • Trevor Tomkins - (percussion (1-3)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Phaideaux Corner
  • A2. Alleycat
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Splat
  • B2. You Can't Be Sure
  • B3. Nosegay