Makaya McCraven

In These Times (XL1271CD)

In These Times View larger

In These Times

Makaya McCraven

International Anthem Recording Co.


GEN 169771




This product is no longer in stock

CD 12,38 €


In These Times is a collection of polytemporal compositions inspired as much by broader cultural struggles as McCraven’s personal experience as a product of a multinational, working class musician community.

With contributions from over a dozen musicians and creative partners from his tight-knit circle of collaborators – including Jeff Parker, Junius Paul, Brandee Younger, Joel Ross, and Marquis Hill – the music was recorded in five different studios and four live performance spaces while McCraven engaged in extensive post-production work at home.

Featuring orchestral, large ensemble arrangements interwoven with the signature “organic beat music” sound that’s become his signature, the album is an evolution and a milestone for McCraven, the producer. But moreover, it’s the strongest and clearest statement we’ve yet to hear from McCraven, the composer.


  • Makaya McCraven - (drums, sampler, percussion, tambourine, vibraphone, organ)
  • Junius Paul - (double bass, percussion, electric bass guitar)
  • Jeff Parker - (guitar)
  • Brandee Younger - (harp)
  • Joel Ross - vibraphone, (marimba)
  • Marta Sofia Honer - (viola)
  • Lia Kohl - (cello)
  • Macie Stewart - (violin)
  • Zara Zaharieva - (violin)
  • Greg Ward - (alto sax)
  • Irvin Pierce - (tenor sax)
  • Marquis Hill - vtrumpet, flugelhorn)
  • Greg Spero - (piano)
  • Rob Clearfield - (piano)
  • Matt Gold - (guitar, percussion, baby sitar)
  • De’Sean Jones - (flute)


  • 01. In These Times
  • 02. The Fours
  • 03. High Fives
  • 04. Dream Another
  • 05. Lullaby
  • 06. This Place That Place
  • 07. The Calling
  • 08. Seventh String
  • 09. So Ubuji
  • 10. The Knew Untitled
  • 11. The Title