Descendants of Mike and Phoebe, The

A Spirit Speaks (Limited Japanese Edition + Obi) (PLP-7843)

New A Spirit Speaks (Limited Japanese Edition + Obi) View larger

A Spirit Speaks (Limited Japanese Edition + Obi)

Descendants of Mike and Phoebe, The



LPS 170081




LP 33,04 €


This delightfully eclectic LP is a prime example of 70’s SoulJazz. It is an early fusion record combining elements from jazz, gospel, soul and blues. It even has an edge of classical music, to be heard in the clear soprano voice of lead singer A. Grace Lee Mims on several tracks.

As such it is a great sign of the times, the early seventies when musical experimentation and coalition was all abound. Bass-player and band member Bill Lee would later gain fame as being the father of controversial filmmaker Spike Lee and worked as musical director/conductor on four of his son’s excellent movie soundtracks. For sure you can already hear the early influences here! This is the best sounding reissue of ‘A Spirit Speaks’ since it’s original release in 1974 and comes in an exact replica of the great original cover art.


  • A. Grace Lee Mims ...... (soprano sax)
  • Consuela Lee Moorehead - (piano)
  • Bill Lee - (bass)
  • Sonny Brown - (percussion)

Recorded in New York, December 19, 20 & 21, 1973


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Two Songs For A Boy Named Mark
  • a) A Little Bitty Baby
  • b) Soliloquy to A Man-Child
  • A2. Coltrane
  • A3. Chick Chick
  • A4. Well Done, Weldon
  • A5. A Spirit Speaks
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Attica
  • B2. Take My Hand, Precious Lord
  • B3. Boll Weevil
  • B4. Won't Be A Stranger
  • B5. Too Little, Too Late