Tyshawn Sorey

The Off-Off Broadway Guide to Synergism (PI 96)

The Off-Off Broadway Guide to Synergism View larger

The Off-Off Broadway Guide to Synergism

Tyshawn Sorey

Pi Recordings


PIR 170090

PI 96



CD 28,91 €


A blazing three-volume CD set recorded live at The Jazz Gallery in New York, featuring drummer Tyshawn Sorey's trio with special guest alto saxophonist Greg Osby.

Increasingly celebrated for his notated works in the contemporary classical realm - Sorey was recently called "composer of the year" by The New York Times - and generally associated with the avant-garde, Off-Off Broadway is a return to his musical roots: a celebration of collective improvisation over well-known jazz standards.

Featuring his trio of pianist Aaron Diehl, best-known for his association with singer Cécile McLorin Salvant; bassist Russell Hall, who has played with Wynton Marsalis and Joey Alexander; and Osby, whose illustrious four-decade long career includes 14 highly-acclaimed releases on the Blue Note record label. One of those, Banned in New York, which captured the rough and tumble of his quartet in a live setting and is considered by many to be among his finest - is an inspiration for this release.


  • Tyshawn Sorey - (drums)
  • Greg Osby - (alto sax)
  • Aaron Diehl - (piano)
  • Russell Hall - (bass)


  • 01. Night and Day
  • 02. Please Stand By
  • 03. Chelsea Bridge
  • 04. Three Little Words
  • 05. Mob Job
  • 06. Ask Me Now
  • 07. Out of Nowhere
  • 08. Ashes
  • 09. Please Stand By
  • 10. Three Little Words
  • 11. Jitterbug Waltz
  • 12. Mob Job
  • 13. It Could Happen to You
  • 14. I Remember You
  • 15. We'll Be Together Again
  • 16. Contemplation
  • 17. Out of Nowhere
  • 18. Solar
  • 19. Ask Me Now