The Shaolin Afronauts

The Fundamental Nature of Being Pt. 1 (FSRLP135)

The Fundamental Nature of Being Pt. 1 View larger

The Fundamental Nature of Being Pt. 1

The Shaolin Afronauts

Freestyle Records


LPS 170224




LP 24,78 €

After an extended hiatus punctuated by rare live performances, The Shaolin Afronauts returned with The Fundamental Nature of Being, an epic  release that expands the sonic vision of the ensemble to towering new heights of burning afro-funk alongside esoteric and ethereal new sonic excursions.

This expanded musical journey further explores the wide spectrum of the band's musical identity – with each of the five parts designed as both standalone records, while also offering a singular listening journey across the band's expansive musical world. This, the first part in the collection, draws on the band's rich influence of 1970s West and South African music, alongside American jazz, psych rock, soul, and cinematic soundtracks of the same era.


  • Alex Taylor - (trombone)
  • Chris Weber - (trumpet)
  • Adam Page - (tenor sax, flute)
  • Derek Pascoe - (tenor sax)
  • Jason McMahon - (soprano sax)
  • Kevin van der Zwaag - (drums)
  • Dylan Marshall, Lachlan Ridge - (guitar)
  • Brenton Foster - (piano)
  • Ross McHenry - (bass)v
  • Jarrad Payne, Tim Bennett,Alexander Flood - (percussion)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Broken Flowers
  • A2. Abyssinian Suite, Pt. 4
  • A3. Dust
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Valley of the Crucible
  • B2. Shakedown
  • B3. Sands of Time