Thelonious Monk

At the Village Gate 1963 (Limited Edition) (7427244912525)

New At the Village Gate 1963 (Limited Edition) View larger


At the Village Gate 1963 (Limited Edition)

Thelonious Monk

Naked Lunch


LPS 170392




LP 16,51 €

This LP released for the first time an above-average date by pianist Thelonious Monk and his 1963 quartet (Charlie Rouse, John Ore and Frankie Dunlop). The recording quality is decent and, although the repertoire is conventional for Monk's groups (four originals and two brief solo versions of "Body and Soul"), both Monk and tenor saxophonist Charlie Rouse take consistently inventive solos while Ore and Dunlop are fine in support. A lengthy version of "I'm Getting Sentimental over You" is most memorable.


  • Thelonious Monk - (piano)
  • Charlie Rouse - (tenor sax)
  • John Ore - (bass)
  • Frankie Dunlop - (drums)

Live at The Village Gate, New York, November 12, 1963


  • SIDE A
  • A1 Rhtyhm-A-Ning
  • A2 Body And Soul
  • A3 Evidence
  • SIDE B
  • B1 I'm Getting Sentimental Over You
  • B2 I Want To Talk About You
  • B3 Jackie-Ing