Dezron Douglas

Atalaya (Standard Black Vinyl) (IARC0058)

Atalaya (Standard Black Vinyl) View larger

Atalaya (Standard Black Vinyl)

Dezron Douglas

International Anthem Recording Co.


LPS 170512




LP 27,26 €

ATALAYA is new work by bassist Dezron Douglas, and it is alive. Alive in all the ways that jazz is at its best – as a pure and personal expression of Black Music filtered through time-honored traditions by a group of musicians who practice sonic coherence through musical unity. As Dezron puts it in the opening statement of his liner notes for the album: “Mysticism, Magic, Faith, Love, Power, Discernment! These are words that embody the creative process of Music.”


  • Dezron Douglas – (basses)
  • George Burton – (piano and rhodes)
  • Joe Dyson Jr. – (drums)
  • Emilio Modeste – (saxophones)
  • Melvis Santa – (vocals and percussion on “Wheeping Birch”)

Recorded in New Haven, Connecticut, on August 25th & 26th, 2021.


  • A1. Atalaya
  • A2. Rosé
  • A3. Coyoacán
  • A4. Luna Moth
  • A5. Wheeping Birch (feat. Melvis Santa)

  • B6. Jones Beach
  • B7. More Coffee Please
  • B8. J Bird
  • B9. Octopus
  • B10. Foligno