Hiromasa Suzuki

Silk Road: Rock Joint Cither (Limited Gatefold LP) (8055323521406)

Silk Road: Rock Joint Cither (Limited Gatefold LP) View larger


Silk Road: Rock Joint Cither (Limited Gatefold LP)

Hiromasa Suzuki

Cinedelic Records


LPS 170602




LP 28,91 €


Japanese jazz musician Hiromasa Suzuki originally recorded Rock Joint Cither - Silk Road in 1973. The album is a widely lauded high point in Suzuki's illustrious career, which spans projects such as Colgen Band, The Freedom Unity and The Players. He's widely considered a standard bearer for jazz fusion in the vein of Weather Report et al, and you can certainly hear broader influences feeding into this stunning record, not least the omnipresent twang of sitar atop some decidedly rockist rumblings and free jazz fireworks. It's a varied listen to keep you hooked throughout, and it's finally getting the repress it deserves after many years in the wilderness.


  • Suzuki Hiromasa - (piano, arrangements)
  • Inaba Kunimitsu- (bass)
  • Sekine Hideo - (drums)
  • Uehara Yoko - (sitar)
  • Muraoka Takeru - (tenor & soprano saxophone)
  • Suzuki Takehisa- (flugelhorn)
  • Nakazawa Tadataka - (trombone)
  • Eto Yukio - (flute)
  • Yoshinaga Hiroshi - (oboe)
  • Kurosawa Katsuyoshi - (horn)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Silk Road
  • A2. 3000 BC
  • A3. Brilliant Bamiyan
  • A4. Eurasia Dawn
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Royal Road
  • B2. Cry Of The Gods
  • B3. Gandhara
  • B4. The Sword Of Merv