Jakob Bro - Joe Lovano

Once Around The Room - A Tribute To Paul Motian (ECM 2747 LP)

New Once Around The Room - A Tribute To Paul Motian View larger

Once Around The Room - A Tribute To Paul Motian

Jakob Bro - Joe Lovano



LPS 171092

ECM 2747 LP



LP 18,99 €

180 gram vinyl lp

On Once Around The Room ECM recording artists and key jazz musicians from several generations unite in a small ensemble to celebrate the musical legacy of drum icon Paul Motian in a big way.

Joe Lovano and Jakob Bro lead a party of seven through fiery originals that recall the idioms and idiosyncrasies which Motian brought to light over six influential decades behind the drums. Lovano and Motian had been intimate colleagues for many years with their most notable collaboration being the groundbreaking trio featuring Bill Frisell – the lineup released three albums on ECM. Jakob Bro on the other hand made his ECM debut on Paul’s album Garden of Eden (2006).

On Once Around The Room, compositions by Joe and Jakob appear alongside collective improvisation and Motian’s own “Drum Music”, seamlessly tied together and developed by an accomplished musical collective with stalwarts Larry Grenadier, Thomas Morgan and Anders Christensen respectively on bass as well as drummers Joey Baron and Jorge Rossy.


  • Jakob Bro - (guitar)
  • Joe Lovano - (tenor saxophone, tarogato)
  • Larry Grenadier - (double bass)
  • Thomas Morgan - (double bass)
  • Anders Christensen - (bass guitar)
  • Joey Baron - (drums)
  • Jorge Rossy - (drums)

Copenhagen, November 2021


  • SIDE A
  • A1. As It Should Be
  • A2. Sound Creation
  • A3. For The Love Of Paul
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Song To An Old Friend
  • B2. Drum Music
  • B3. Pause