The Deconstructed Ego (Limited Edition) (AR002LP)

The Deconstructed Ego (Limited Edition) View larger

The Deconstructed Ego (Limited Edition)




LPS 171146




LP 24,78 €

In Pakistan the interest in local traditional music is slowly dying. As western music and sounds are increasingly favoured, fewer musicians reach for traditional Hindi instruments, like the Sarangi, Cajon or Tabla. This a reflection of modern times, and the need for instant interaction and fast data exchange. Learning and mastering traditional Indian music is incredibly difficult and requires a lifetime of dedication. Fortunately, the quartet Jaubi appears to be preserving these ancestral musical roots, whilst boldly taking influence from modern sounds/artists, an example of this is their reconstruction of classic J Dilla beats.

Jaubi (pronounced jaw-be) is an experimental ensemble based in Lahore, Pakistan. The band was founded in 2013 by Zohaib Hassan Khan (sarangi), Kashif Ali Dhani (tabla), Qamar Abbas (cajon) and Ali Riaz Baqar (guitar). Jaubi is an Urdu word, roughly translating to ‘whatever’, which is their music philosophy, creating whatever sounds good and whatever feels good, as a goal.

The musicians put a strong emphasis on incorporating the complex elements of Hindustani classical music and composing everything by ear. Nothing is ever written down, which follows the aural tradition of this type of classical music. Zohaib is an 8th generation Sarangi player, hailing from Amristar Gharana ancestry. Kashif and Qamar also belong to musical families, whilst Ali is a self-taught guitarist and hip hop enthusiast. The diverse backgrounds of the members allows for an interesting amalgamation of musical ideas, creating a sound that is unique on a global scale.


  • Zohaib Hassan Khan - (Sarangi)
  • Kashif Ali Dhani - (Tabla and vocals)
  • Qammar Vicky Abbas - (Cajon and vocals)
  • Ali Riaz Baqar - (Guitar and kalimba)

Recorded in Lahore, Pakistan in 2013 & 2014


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Intro
  • A2. Dha-VI
  • A3. A War With My Ego
  • A4. Her Smile Made Me Smile
  • A5. Make Them Proud
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Remorsefully Proud
  • B2. Dilla Taal (For J Dilla)
  • B3. Outro
  • B4. Pak Damun
  • B5. Time: The Donut of the Heart (J Dilla Cover)