Sonny Stitt

When Sonny Blows Blue (Limited JP Gatefold) (PLP-7854)

New When Sonny Blows Blue (Limited JP Gatefold) View larger

When Sonny Blows Blue (Limited JP Gatefold)

Sonny Stitt



LPS 172173




LP 33,04 €

Limited first-time pressing

Japanese OBI-strip

Gatefold cover

Featuring Herbie Hancock, Grady Tate, and Ron Carter

P-Vine present a reissue of When Sonny Blows Blue by the legendary saxophonist Sonny Stitt for the first time on limited edition vinyl. Originally released in 1970, this album featured a star-studded line-up with the likes of Herbie Hancock, Grady Tate and Ron Carter backing Stitt across a number of jazz standards. By force of its cast, ‘Summertime’ and ‘Out of This World’, have never sounded quite like this. The gold sleeve returns along with an iconic Japanese obi strip.


  • Sonny Stitt - (alto & tenor sax)
  • Herbie Hancock - (piano, organ)
  • Ron Carter - (bass)
  • Howard C. Collins - (guitar)
  • Ted Sommer - (vibes)
  • Gene Bertoncini - (guitar)
  • John Pizzarelli - (guitar)
  • Grady Tate - (drums)

Recorded: New York, January 7, 8 & 9, 1970.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Out Of This World
  • A2. Jason's Blues
  • A3. MacArthur Park
  • A4. My Idea
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Summertime
  • B2. Sonny
  • B3. When Sonny Blows Blue
  • B4. Opus I