Vanessa Wagner

Mirrored (Limited Edition) (iF1077LP)

Mirrored (Limited Edition) View larger

Mirrored (Limited Edition)

Vanessa Wagner



LPS 172297




LP 22,30 €

French pianist Vanessa Wagner collects solo piano studies of graceful minimalism and rare finesse for new album Mirrored.

Quickly following March 2022’s Study of the Invisible album, Vanessa Wagner returns with a new collection of work that paints in many colours. The application of shadow in Mirrored evokes haunting poignancy; the care and delicateness of its negative space leaves room for undulating melodic motifs to ebb and flow; its bold splashes of luminescence are striking and rich. And while the album collates re-interpretations of works by composers as varied as Philip Glass, Nico Muhly, Moondog, Leo Ferré and Camille Pepin, the potency and effect of the collection as a whole reflects only Vanessa Wagner and the extraordinary breadth of her abilities.

Performing solo, exposed to timbre, tempo and clarity, many of the pieces here - such as “Sea Horses” by (Vanessa’s one-time mentor) Moondog or Philip Glass’ “Etude 4” - demand virtuosic abilities as a performer and interpreter. But in Vanessa Wagner’s hands, they are not only made her own, but made mesmeric and magical by the sensitivity of her touch.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. The Poet Acts (Philip Glass)
  • A2. Sea Horses (Moondog)
  • A3. Solitude (Ryuichi Sakamoto)
  • A4. Etude 2 (Philip Glass)
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Etude 4 (Philip Glass)
  • B2. Quiet Music (Nico Mulhy)
  • B3. Number 1 (Camille Pépin)
  • B4. Opus X (Léo Ferré)