Charlie Stacey

The Light Beyond Time (Limited Edition) (ND012)

The Light Beyond Time (Limited Edition) View larger

The Light Beyond Time (Limited Edition)

Charlie Stacey

Night Dreamer


LPS 172361




LP 24,78 €

One of the UK’s leading keys players, Charlie Stacey improvisational skills are unmatched. Known for his work with Yussef Dayes and fellow Tomorrow Warriors alumni such as Moses Boyd and The Ezra Collective. Stacey’s technical prowess and ability to jump between genres has quietly gained the young pianist a reputation as one of the most advanced players around.

Fronting a band for his debut recording under his own name, Stacey had to bring that knack for improvisation to the fore. Alongside his regular band of Oscar Ogden (drums), Tom Driessler (bass) and Jay Phelps (trumpet), Stacey was joined in the studio for the first time by vocalist Vula Malinga - who has performed with Basement Jaxx and Incognito - and Holland-based Senegalese percussionist Mamour Seck. Together, the group forged four sprawling jams from the white heat of the direct-to-disc recording process.


  • Charlie Stacey - (piano, Rhodes, synth)
  • Vula Malinga - (vocals)
  • Jay Phelps - (trumpet)
  • Tom Driessler - (bass)
  • Mamour Seck - (percussion)
  • Oscar Ogden - (drums)

Recorded live at Artone Studio, Haarlem, The Netherland, October 19, 2021


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Dawn Chorus
  • A2. Music Is Healing
  • A3. Charlie's Tunev
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Rivers Of Gondor
  • B2. Mamour's Tune