Pharoah Sanders

Thembi (Limited Gatefold Edition) (ACL0089)

New Thembi (Limited Gatefold Edition) View larger


Thembi (Limited Gatefold Edition)

Pharoah Sanders

Audio Clarity


LPS 172412




LP 16,51 €


Classic spiritual soul jazz from Pharoah Sanders – recorded with an all star lineup that includes Lonnie Liston Smith, Cecil McBee, Roy Haynes, and Michael White. The album's got a strong influence from the members on the set – particularly Lonnie Liston Smith, who seems to bring in a very nicely soulful approach to a few of the numbers, and Michael White, whose spiritual consciousness is still a bit rough-hewn and personal at this point.

The record oddly shifts mood from track to track – going from the mellow soul of "Astral Traveling", into the loud free jazz of "Red Black & Green", to the modal grooving of "Thembi", and into the spiritual joy of "Love" and "Bailophone Dance" – all of which makes for a really wonderful album, one of Pharoah's strongest statements of the time!


  • Pharoah Sanders - soprano & tenor sax
  • Michael White - violin, percussion
  • Lonnie Liston Smith - electirc piano, vocals
  • Cecil McBee - bass
  • Roy Haynes - drums
  • Majid Shabazz - percussion
  • Anthony Wiles - percussion
  • Nat Bettis - percussion

Los Angeles, November 25, 1970 and New York City, January 12, 1971


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Astral Traveling
  • A2. Red, Black & Green
  • A3. Thembi
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Love
  • B2. Morning Prayer
  • B3. Bailophone Dance