William Odell Hughes

Cruisin' W/ Wendell Harrison (Limited Edition) (TWM84)

Cruisin' W/ Wendell Harrison (Limited Edition) View larger


Cruisin' W/ Wendell Harrison (Limited Edition)

William Odell Hughes

Tidal Waves Music


LPS 173252




LP 27,26 €

180g edition black vinyl

Comes with obi strip

A really fantastic soul record from the post-Motown underground in Detroit – and one that also has ties to the Tribe Records scene of the 70s!

William Odell Hughes is a great soul singer, with an ability to stretch out on a long, sensual line – a quality that's a bit in the territory of Marvin Gaye in the early 70s – and he works here with arrangements from reedman Wendell Harrison, who plays tenor and flute on the record, and also a bit of keyboards too – serving up this lean backing that really fits the open, flowing style of William's vocals – on tracks that are all nice and long, and very different than the usual indie soul of the time! There's a wicked blend of deep soul and slinky grooves here – a bit like the best from Mike James Kirkland.


  • William Odell Hughes - (lead vocals)
  • Wendell Harrison - (synthesizer, tenor sax, flute)
  • Dennis Boles - (synthesizer)
  • Wendell Lucas - (bass)
  • Andrew Gibson - (drums)
  • Kenny Demery - (guitar)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Cruisin'
  • A2. Waiting
  • A3. Where Am I
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Super-Funk-A-Ga-La-Listic-Freak
  • B2. I've Got Love On My Mind