Dana Kaproff

Dana Kaproff (Limited Edition) (MAR075)

Dana Kaproff (Limited Edition) View larger


Dana Kaproff (Limited Edition)

Dana Kaproff

Mad About Records


LPS 173444




LP 24,78 €

Limited Edition 180 gram Heavyweight Vinyl reissued for the first time Worldwide.

An album that's got all sorts of wonderful jazzy goodness going on – not just all sorts of great keyboard work from the leader Dana Kaproff, but also a full ensemble feel that really helps the whole thing soar!

The approach is 70s jazz funk, of mid-decade mode – and the tunes are a blend of CTI-styled tunes with others that have a richer color palette that maybe invokes electric jazzy soundtrack work of the period too – all blended together with a top-shelf sound for such an obscure indie release! Rocky Davis plays additional Fender Rhodes on the record, and most of the other players are equally obscure – as is Dana Kaproff himself – but that doesn't stop the whole thing from being a sweet electric gem, with titles that include "Piranha", "Brownstones", "Mariposa", "Sandcastle", "Snowdrift", and "Aviary".


  • Larry Paxton - (bass)
  • Steve Larrance - (drums)
  • John Goux - (guitar)
  • Rocky Davis - (keyboards, synthesizer)
  • Dirk Dalton - (percussion)
  • Joel Peskin - (soprano & tenor sax)
  • Glenn Ferris - (trombone)
  • Judd Miller - (trumpet, flugelhorn)

Recorded during September 1976, Santa Monica, California


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Brownstones
  • A2. Piranha
  • A3. China White
  • A4. Snowdrift
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Strawberry Canyon
  • B2. Sandcastle
  • B3. Mariposa
  • B4. Aviary