Miles Davis

Plays For Lovers (Limited Clear Vinyl) (DMOO033)

New Plays For Lovers (Limited Clear Vinyl) View larger

Plays For Lovers (Limited Clear Vinyl)

Miles Davis

Destination Moon


LPS 173839




LP 16,51 €


Reissue, originally released in 1965.Collecting recordings made between 1953 and 1956, Miles Davis Plays For Lovers is a look at the more sensitive and sensual side of the great trumpeter, focusing on his sultry and smoky late night ballads. Mostly featuring his legendary mid-50s quintet of Coltrane, Garland, Chambers, and Jones, this collection highlights that group's ability to slow things down to a soulful, brilliant simmer. Classic jazz ballads that swing, perfect for late nights with a lover at your side.


  • Miles Davis - (trumpet)
  • Red Garland - (piano on A1, A2, B1, B3-B5)
  • Paul Chambers - (bass on A1, A2, B1, B5)
  • Jimmy Cobb - (drums on A1, A2, B1, B5)
  • Horace Silver - (piano on A3, A4)
  • Percy Heath - (bass on A3, A4, B2)
  • Art Blakey - (drums on A3)
  • Kenny Clarke - (drums on A4)
  • Charles Mingus - (piano on B2)
  • Max Roach - (drums on B2)
  • Oscar Pettiford - (bass on B3-B4)
  • Philly Joe Jones - (drums on B3-B4)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. There Is No Greater Love
  • A2. Something That I Dreamed Last Night
  • A3. That Old Devil Moon
  • A4. You Don't Know What Love Is
  • SIDE B
  • B1. When I Fall In Love
  • B2. Smooch
  • B3. Will You Still Be Mine?
  • B4. I See Your Face Before Me