Oscar Rocchi

Alchemy in Jazz (Limited Edition) (HBR-018)

New Alchemy in Jazz (Limited Edition) View larger


Alchemy in Jazz (Limited Edition)

Oscar Rocchi

Holy Basil


LPS 173845




LP 24,78 €

Besides being a leading session musician in Milan's jazz scene between the 60s and 90s, Italian pianist Oscar Rocchi created a number of exquisite library albums in the pop-jazz genre. These include among others "Erbe Selvatiche", "Pop-Paraphrenia" and "Woman's Colours" (the latter co-written with his friend Giancarlo Barigozzi) as well as "Alchemy in Jazz.

Originally released on Ring, an imprint of Edizioni Minstrel, the album was recorded by a quintet featuring Rocchi  plus long-time collaborators Hugo Heredia , Sergio Fanni , Gianni Cazzola and Furio Di Castri , and has since become a cult record in countries from the US to Japan, where it was released for the first time on CD in 2013.

With a palette ranging from frenzied post-bop echoes("Gold-Fast", "Nigredo") to sentimental nocturnal ballads ("Solution", "Rubedo") to cheerful modern-jazz vibes ("Mercury", "Silver-Bop", "Sulphur"), here Rocchi paints an elegantly syncopated musical fresco that, like the magical, alchemical process referred to in the title, transmutes the harsher aspects of jazz syntax into a graceful and more euphonic style that is approachable for jazz neophytes and yet enjoyable for seasoned jazz lovers.


  • Furio Di Castri - (bass)
  • Gianni Cazzola - (drums)
  • Oscar Rocchi - (piano)
  • Hugo Heredia - (sax, flute)
  • Sergio Fanni - (trumpet)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Gold-Fast
  • A2. Mercury
  • A3. Solution
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Silver-Bop
  • B2. Sulphur
  • B3. Rubedo
  • B4. Nigredo