Betty Carter

The Modern Sound of Betty Carter + Out There (99051)

The Modern Sound of Betty Carter + Out There Ver más grande


The Modern Sound of Betty Carter + Out There

Betty Carter

American Jazz Classics


AJC 130415




The Modern Sound of Betty Carter + Out There

Más detalles

Este producto ya no está disponible

CD 8,26 €

2 LPs ON 1 CD

This edition presents two complete classic albums by the great Betty Carter: "The Modern Sound of Betty Carter" (ABCParamount ABC S63) with accompaniment by an orchestra conducted by Richard Wes, and "Out There with Betty Carter" (Peacock PLP90) with showcases Carter backed by an all-star band featuring Gigi Gryce (also conductor and coarranger), Kenny Dorham, Ray Copeland, Melba Liston, Benny Golson, Sahib Shihab and Wynton Kelly, among others.As a bonus, Carter’s only other collaborative session with Gigi Gryce (again arranger and conductor) in its entirety, as well as a single song presenting the vocalist backed by the Ray Bryant trio.


BETTY CARTER, vocals on all tracks, plus:

The Richard Wess Orchestra.


(13), (17), (19) & (22-24):
Kenny Dorham, Ray Copeland (tp), Melba Liston (tb), Gigi Gryce (as, cond),
Jimmy Powell (as),Benny Golson (ts), Sahib Shihab (bs), Wynton Kelly (p), Sam Jones (b), Specs Wright (d).

(14-16), (18) & (20-21):
Ray Copeland (tp), Melba Liston (tb), Jerome Richardson (ts, fl), Wynton Kelly (p),
Peck Morrison (b), Specs Wright (d).

All tracks recorded in New York, February 1958.

[25-29] BONUS TRACKS (**):

(25-28) Featuring: Conte Candoli (tp), Urbie Green, Jimmy Cleveland (tb), Seldon Powell,
Al Cohn, Hank Jones (p), Milt Hinton (b), Osie Johnson (d), Gigi Gryce (arr, cond).
New York, April 25, 1956.

(29]) Ray Bryant (p), Wendell Marshall (b), Philly Joe Jones (d).
New York, May 16, 1955.


01 What A Little Moonlight Can Do
02 There’s No You
03 I Don’t Want To Set The World On Fire
04 Remember
05 My Reverie
06 Mean To Me
07 Don’t Weep For The Lady
08 Jazz (Ain’t Nothin’ But Soul)
09 For You
10 Stormy Weather
11 At Sundown
12 On The Alamo
13 You’re Driving Me Crazy (*)
14 I Can’t Help It (*)
15 By The Bend Of The River (*)
16 Babe’s Blues (*)
17 Foul Play (*)
18 You’re Getting To Be A Habit With Me (*)
19 On The Isle Of May (*)
20 But Beautiful (*)
21 All I’ve Got (*)
22 Make It Last (*)
23 Blue Bird Of Happiness (*)
24 Something Wonderful(*)
25 Let’s Fall In Love (**)
26 Social Call (**)
27 Runaway (**)
28 Frenesí (**)
29 Gone With The Wind (**)

TOTAL TIME: 76:56 Min.