Nina Simone

Sings Ellington + at Newport (EJC 55541)

Sings Ellington + at Newport Ver más grande


Sings Ellington + at Newport

Nina Simone

Essential Jazz Classics


EJC 130426

EJC 55541



Sings Ellington + at Newport

Más detalles

CD 6,60 €

This edition contains the complete 1961 original album Nina Simone Sings Ellington! (Colpix SCP425) by the great Nina Simone (tracks 1-11). It showcases her singing and playing a set of songs by Duke Ellington. As a bonus, Ninaís version of Ellington’s “Mood Indigo” from her first album, as well as the complete LP Nina Simone at Newport (Colpix SCP412), which presents her set at the Newport Jazz Festival on June 30, 1960.

[1-11] Sings Ellington
NINA SIMONE, vocals & piano
Orchestra conducted & arranged by RALPH BURNS. New York, June 1961.

[12] Bonus Tracks:
Nina Simone (vcl, p) Jimmy Bond (b), Albert “Tootie” Heath (d) New York, 1957.

13-19] Bonus Album: Nina Simone At Newport
NINA SIMONE, (voc, p) AL SHACKMAN (g) CHRIS WHITE (b) & ROB HAMILTON (d) Newport Jazz Festival, Newport, Rhode Island June 30, 1960.

01. Do Nothin’ Till You Hear From Me
02. I Got It Bad (And That Ain’t Good)
03. Hey, Buddy Bolden
04. Merry Mending
05. Something To Live For
06. You Better Know It
07. I Like The Sunrise (From The Liberian Suite)
08. Solitude
09. The Gal From Joe’s
10. Satin Doll
11. It Don’t Mean A Thing (If It Ain’t Got That Swing)
12. Mood Indigo *
13. Trouble In Mind **
14. Porgy **
15. Little Liza Jane **
16.You’d Be So Nice To Come Home To **
17. Flo Me La **
18. Nina’s Blues **
19. In The Evening By The Moonlight **
Total time: 77:11