Al Cohn

Al Cohn and His `Charlie`S Tavern` Ensemble (FSRCD 484)

Al Cohn and His `Charlie`S Tavern` Ensemble Ver más grande


Al Cohn and His `Charlie`S Tavern` Ensemble

Al Cohn

Fresh Sound Records


ZZZ 117618




Al Cohn and His `Charlie`S Tavern` Ensemble

Más detalles

CD 9,07 €

Featuring: Al Cohn (ts), Joe Newman (tp), Billy Byers, Eddie Bert (tb), Hal McKusick, Gene Quill (as), Sol Schlinger (bars), Sanford Gold (p), Billy Bauer, Jimmy Raney (g), Milt Hinton (b), Osie Johnson (d). Al Cohn, Johnny Carisi, Ralph Burns (arrangers)

Al Cohn was something special, a gem among musicians. Writer, arranger, performer, leader he was one of those rare creative artists gifted with unlimited imagination and technical resources, with magnificent taste and an unerring insight into the expressiveness of East Coast jazz. In the 50s, the personnel he assembled for the four sessions that make up this CD often relaxed in Charlie’s Tavern, a congenial watering hole on Broadway across from Birdland, "the jazz corner of the world". Despite slight personnel changes, each group was power-packed and, unlike many such outfits, married outstanding individuality to collective cohesiveness. With them, Cohn emphatically demonstrated the allembracing brilliance of the many-faceted talents that earned him the title "Mr. Music".

Track list:

01. Inside Out 6:45
02. Autumn Leaves 6:05
03. Serenade For Kathy 6:57
04. Move 7:16
05. Never Never Land 5:29
06. Something For Lisa 6:26
07. Count Every Star 3:06
08. La Ronde 2:45
09. Breakfast With Joe 4:06
10. This Reminds Me Of You 3:12
11. Cabin In The Sky 3:04
12. Lullaby Of Birdland 2:20
13. Cohn My Way 2:56

Recorded in New York City, 1954