Pepper Adams

Hollywood Quintet Sessions (FSR 2246)

Hollywood Quintet Sessions Ver más grande


Hollywood Quintet Sessions

Pepper Adams

Jazzcity Series


ABS 118739

FSR 2246



Hollywood Quintet Sessions

Más detalles

CD 9,88 €

Featuring: Pepper Adams (bars); Stu Williamson, Lee Katzman (tp); Carl Perkins, Jimmy Rowles (p); Leroy Vinnegar, Doug Watkins (b); Mel Lewis (d)
Pepper Adams was one of those young jazzmen from Detroit who emerged in the middle Fifties with two dynamic elements in common: they all played melodically, and they all swung. As Adams succinctly put it, “This is the kind of playing that stands the test of time.” In January 1956, still virtually unknown among jazz fans and critics, he decided to migrate to New York. By the Fall he had joined Stan Kenton’s band on its way back to the West Coast. This experience turned out to be a success, the beginning of a “meteoric rise” in his career. He won Down Beat’s jazz critics’ poll award as New Star on baritone in 1957 and then settled in Los Angeles for over a year. There he played and recorded with several groups, making his first two albums under his own name. Both are on this CD.


1 Muezzin’
2 Unforgettable
3 Baubles, Bangles And Beads
4 My One And Only Love
5 Freddie Froo
6 Minor Mishap
7 Blackout Blues
8 High Step
9 Zec
10 Alone Together
11 5021
12 Four Funky Folk

Recorded in Hollywood, Radio Recorders, 1957.