Buddy Collette

And His West Coast Friends (JAZZ)

And His West Coast Friends Ver más grande

FSR 2248

And His West Coast Friends

Buddy Collette

Jazzcity Series


ABS 120551



And His West Coast Friends

Más detalles

CD 9,88 €

Personnel: Buddy Collette (ts, fl, as), John Anderson (tp), Dave Wells (btp, tb), Bill Green (as), Chuck Gentry (bars), Jim Hall (g), Gerald Wiggins (p), Curtis Counce, Joe Comfort (b), Chico Hamilton (d), Max Albright (d)

The primary focus of the two albums compiled in this CD set rests on Buddy Collette’s talents as a writer and as a multi-reed instrumentalist. Although the sleevenotes didn’t say so, Tanganyka was Buddy Collette’s album; he is the composer of most of the tunes and is featured throughout. On the second album, Mood for Max, a Max Albright’s drummer date, Collette, as a player, is clearly the star of the session, along with trumpeter John Anderson. Both also made considerable contributions as composers and arrangers for the session.

Despite the presence of other great soloists on both dates, among them Jim Hall, Gerald Wiggins, Curtis Counce, Chico Hamilton and William Green, Buddy’s taste and sensitivity as a player and writer dominates. The writing ranges from the African exoticism that Collette had a penchant for delivering, as well as some Basie-type tunes, standards, and moody and groovy originals. Overall, it is an excellent example of the tight, considered writing that characterizes the best of the West Coast style.


01. Jungle Pogo Stick
02. Green Dream
03. It’s You
04. A Walk In The Veldt
05. How Long Has This Been Going On?
06. The Blinfold Test
07. Tanganyka
08. Wagnervous
09. And So Is Love
10. Coming Back For Me
11. Crow’s Nest
12. Remember
13. Sunset Drive
14. Some Folks Like The Blues
15. I Hear Bells
16. Buzzin’ Cool
17. One Morning In May
18. Heat Wave
19. That’s All
20. You’re Devasting Me
21. Top Hat, White Tie And Tails
22. Mood For Max

Tracks #1-10 from 12" LP "Tanganika" (DIG J-101).

Personnel: John Anderson (tp), Buddy Collette (fl, cl, as & ts), Gerry Wiggings (p), Jim Hall (g), Curtis Counce (b) and Chico Hamilton (d). Recorded at Capitol Studio, Hollywood, on September 16 & 27, 1956.

Tracks #11-22 from Max Albright's 12" LP "Mood For Max" (Motif ML-502).

Personnel [on #11-18]: John Anderson (tp), Dave Wells (b-tp, tb), Buddy Collette (fl, cl, as & ts), Bill Green (fl, cl b-cl, as & ts), Gene Cipriano (oboe, english horn, b-cl on #19-22) Chuck Gentry (bs, ou on #19-22), Gerry Wiggings (p), Curtis Counce (b), Joe Comfort (b on #19-22) and Max Albright (d). Recorded at Capitol Studio, Hollywood, on November 8, 16 & 23, 1956.



"This set, presented by disc jockey Sleepy Stein but actually led by multireedist Buddy Collette, slightly predates the Chico Hamilton Quintet and hints strongly at that chamber jazz group. Comprised of Collette, drummer Chico Hamilton, trumpeter John Anderson, pianist Gerald Wiggins, guitarist Jimmy Hall and bassist Curtis Counce — if one substitutes cellist Fred Katz for Anderson and Wiggins and changes the bassist, the result is the Chico Hamilton Quintet of 1955. The music is mostly group originals (five by Collette) and is an excellent example of cool jazz."

Scott Yanow -All Music Guide

-Mood for Max

"Studio drummer Max Albright's only session as a leader was one of the few releases for the short-lived Motif label. A variety of top L.A.-based musicians (including trumpeter John Anderson, Buddy Collette and William Green on reeds and pianist Gerald Wiggins) are heard from on the octet date. Collette and Anderson split the writing for the six standards evenly and each contributes three originals. This obscure session is melodic, swinging and worth searching for by fans of West Coast jazz."

Scott Yanow -All Music Guide