Dinah Washington

Complete Recordings with Don Costa + 10 Bonus (EJC 55670)

Complete Recordings with Don Costa + 10 Bonus Ver más grande


Complete Recordings with Don Costa + 10 Bonus

Dinah Washington

Essential Jazz Classics


EJC 145570

EJC 55670



Complete Recordings with Don Costa + 10 Bonus

Más detalles

CD 8,25 €



This release contains all existing recordings by the great Dinah Washington backed by orchestras conducted and arranged by Don Costa. The discoverer of singer Paul Anka, Costa is best known for conducting and arranging several hit albums by Frank Sinatra, including "Sinatra and Strings" and "My Way". These sessions with Dinah clearly show his mastery and are among the best made by the singer.

Among them are the songs originally comprised on the celebrated albums "In Love" (Roulette SR-25180) and "Drinking Again" (Roulette SR-25183). Two complete sessions from the same period conducted by Fred Norman, as well as an amazing ballad medley presenting Dinah backed only by flute and piano, have been added here as a bonus.


Orchestra arranged & conducted by DON COSTA

Bonus Tracks:
CD 2 [10-18]: Dinah Washington (vcl).
Orchestra conducted & arranged by FRED NORMAN. Bell Sound Studios, New York, March 1962.

CD 2 [19]: Trio Medley:
DINAH WASHINGTON (vocal) with FRANK WESS (flute) & JACK WILSON (piano).
Bell Sound Studios, New York, March 1962


CD 1: Total Time: 76:28

01 I’ll Be Around
02 For All We Know
03 Just Friends
04 I’m Gonna Laugh You Out Of My Life
05 Lover Man
06 Say It Isn’t So
07 That Old Feeling
08 Love, I Found You Gone
09 On The Street Of Regret
10 The Man That Got Away
11 Baby, Won’t You Please Come Home
12 I Don’t Know You Anymore
13 Someone Else Is Taking My Place
14 He’s Gone Again
15 I Didn’t Know About You
16 There I Go
17 You’re A Sweetheart
18 I’ll Close My Eyes
19 Do Nothin’ Till You Hear From Me
20 My Devotion
21 If It’s The Last Thing I Do
22 Our Love
23 It’s A Mean Old Man’s World
24 Was It Like That?
25 Fly Me To The Moon
26 I Wouldn’t Know What To Do
27 No Hard Feelings

CD 2: Total Time: 76:45

01 Me and the One I Love
02 There Must Be A Way
03 Take Me In Your Arms
04 What's New?
05 Love Is the Sweetest Thing
06 These Foolish Things
07 That's My Desire
08 The More I See You
09 I Used to Love You (But It's All Over Now)
10 Drinking AgainR [alt. version]*
11 Is You Is Or Is You Ain't My Baby *
12 Destination Moon *
13 Take Your Shoes Off, Baby *
14 Where Are You ? [alt. version] *
15 Your're Nobody 'Til Somebody Love You [alt. version] *
16 Your're Nobody 'Til Somebody Love You [master] *
17 Drinking Again [master] *
18 Where Are You? [master]*
19 Ballad Medley: Ill Wind / For All We Know / I Could Have Told You So / Smoke Gets In Your Eyes / Goodbye / Make Me The Man Love Me / Blue Gardenia / I Concentrate On You*