Albert Ayler

European Radio Studio Recordings 1964 (OGY 678)

European Radio Studio Recordings 1964 Ver más grande


European Radio Studio Recordings 1964

Albert Ayler



HAT 148340

OGY 678



European Radio Studio Recordings 1964

Más detalles

Este producto ya no está disponible

CD 12,39 €

This welcome release collects the Quartet European Radio Studio recordings of the famous formation. It is formed by material which was edited in two albums previously. The Hilversum recordings (Osmosis and ESP-DISK) and the Copenhagen tapes (Ayler Records) both largely out-of-print.

The Hilversum session (tracks 1-6) by Albert Ayler is one of those legendary recordings in free jazz. It was recorded in a Netherlands radio studio in front of a small invited audience, at the end of the Ayler Quartet’s European tour on November 9, 1964. The band, Ayler, Don Cherry, Gary Peacock and Sunny Murray, had been playing Ayler’s tunes for months and were uncanny in their ability to hear one another and improvise together at that point. It was also the last time the group would record together under Ayler’s name as a quartet and then went out at a peak.

This set is a defining moment, not just historically, but musically. The Copenhagen recordings (tracks 7-9) comprise 20 minutes recorded in the studio of the Danish radio on the 10th September 1964 and it is a very fine addition to the little-documented quartet as it includes one of the strongest recordings of “Saints” available to this day. The live performance of the Copenhagen tapes will be issued in 2017 also on hatOLOGY.

These cats play together with the kind of intuition and foresight only a seasoned group can; they understand the nuances of the language they are speaking and know how to offer those to the listener emotionally, musically, and even culturally. Finally, as for the sound of the recording, it has never been better. The remastering job is excellent, providing excellent fidelity and balance.


ALBERT AYLER, tenor sax
DON CHERRY, cornet
GARY PEACOCK, double bas

The Netherlands, November 9, 1964. (tracks 1-6)
Copenhagen, September 10, 1964 (tracks 7-9)


01. Angels
02. C.A.C.
03. Ghost
04. Infant Happiness
05. Spirits
06. No Name
07. Vibrations
08. Saints
09. Spirits